Feature – Harper Smith

February 14, 2012 § 2 Comments

Every now and then I will come across a fashion photographer whose work is so unique in its poetic beauty that it stops me in my tracks. Harper Smith is a perfect example of this, and someone that I constantly strive towards becoming – a truly artistic photographer.

Through her lens she creates fairytale dreamscapes filled with romantic and emotive depth, yet it is largely the aesthetic of her images that I am drawn to, particularly the muted tones and composite layering that she employs, securing herself such an individual style. I admire any photographer who celebrates the organic process of film photography, which Harper does with such finesse, producing a raw, naturalistic finish that compliments both the landscapes and the subjects beautifully.

I adore the soft, feminine qualities that characterise her work, often casting a female model, set in rocky desert landscapes or on a shore line. There is a sense of nostalgia and isolation in much of her work and I feel it is the synergy between these recurring themes and the authentic means of creation that she embraces, which gives her each of her images its emotional presence.

She has such a vast collection of breathtaking images that I could hardly decide where to begin in showing you my favourites. So I suggest you head over to her photo blog and website and decide for yourselves which will become yours.

All images copyright of Harper Smith.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Feature – Harper Smith

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Feature – Harper Smith at Zoë Lower.

meta

